• Weekly Web Wonders

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Admin

Robotics Roadshow

Last week I sent a flyer around to all the schools who are participating in the Freedom to Learn 1-to-1 initiative about a new program we’re implementing this year called the Robotics Roadshow.  Following the success of the RoboCamp we hosted in July, the Robotics Roadshow will be bringing the power of LEGO robotics out to FTL schools.  We’ll spend an extended period of time (more than a single class period) to go through the process of designing, building, and programming robots to perform specific tasks and challenges.

I’m really looking forward to this project…I’ll get out of my office a bit and help students make connections between technology and the real world…plus it’s just a lot of fun playing with LEGOs.  That’s the hook, because the type of challenging activities the students will complete address so many of the skills that are desired by educators: problem-solving, collaboration, constructing new knowledge, critical thinking. 

From the students’ perspective it’s a great activity because it’s (obviously) hands-on and allows for a tremendous amount of freedom and creativity.  There’s no “right” way of attempting the challenge…it’s not black and white.  In addition, it allows students with varying abilities and strengths the chance to shine.

So far the Roadshow is traveling in November and December.  More info about our successes will be coming!

3 Responses

  1. Dang, I’m REALLY jealous not teaching in Berrien county this year Kevin. Guess I’ll ahve to do my best to snag a grant or two to get my own Robotix kits and do some LEGO robot action over in Van Buren County.

  2. Have you worked with the LEGO robotics stuff before? It’s pretty fun…and easy. I’m sorry you missed out…maybe we can work something out in the spring.

  3. I’m hoping to get a grant from the parent organization here at school. They have 12,000 to give out, and I’m hoping that I can get a decent chunk of it (about one grand) to purchase a few LEGO Robotic kits. I haven’t had the opportunity to do it before, but I’m familiar with similar “easy to program” interfaces (I grew up with Logo), so I’m excited to try a few things out.

Leave a Reply

