• Weekly Web Wonders

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Admin

A Fair Trial?

I ran across this story from London about a trial currently in progress. Read it first, then come back…I’ll wait.

OK, now that you’re back let me ask a question. If you were involved in a case like this, either the plaintiff or defendant, would you feel like you were getting a fair trial? (Ignore the content of the trial for the moment, that’s not the point.)

If you were trying to prove something about how a web site or forum was being used and the judge didn’t even understand what the medium was, how confident would you feel? Here’s a quote to remember:

“The trouble is I don’t understand the language. I don’t really understand what a Web site is.”

World Wide WebDon’t understand what a web site is? When everywhere you look there’s a cadre of w’s standing around like The Three Musketeers preceding any number of words and dots. I think I’d have to ask my lawyer to ask for a mistrial or a dismissal or a rain check or something that would allow me to take my case elsewhere.

Perhaps you saw it coming…I’m switching gears (if you can’t find ’em, grind ’em)…what about educators/schools/districts who have little to no idea about the capabilities of the Internet? Would you want your child to go to a school where the principal or a teacher said, “I don’t do email?” And I know there’s plenty out there…are their students getting a fair trial education?

Leave a Reply

